Riverside Community College Logo
Hero Image

District Safety & Security Committee

Committee Charge

The District Safety & Security Committee was chartered to address the safety of all of the District stakeholder groups. The DSSC meets regularly to identify unsafe conditions that could result in harm to our students, faculty, staff, and visitors. ​The DSSC is also tasked with identifying actions to remediate these unsafe conditions, including deficient processes or procedures, and assigning accountability for the remediation of the unsafe condition or practice to responsible members of the District and college administrations.


The District Safety & Security Sub-Committee shall consist of the following permanent members:

Director, Risk Management; Manager, District Safety & Emergency Preparedness; Chief of Police; Director, Employee Relations, Labor Relations and College Support; and Vice Presidents of Business Services are permanent members.

All other members serve two-year terms, with the exception of the student representative who will serve a one-year term.

College Academic Senates will appoint faculty members.

The faculty co-chair, rotating by college, will be chosen by the faculty members on the committee, exclusive of Faculty Association representatives.

Co-chairs vote on recommendations only in the event of a tie.

Faculty Association will appoint Faculty Association representatives.

CSEA will appoint Classified Professional representatives.

The Associated Students will appoint the student representatives.